Fight

It’s 3:30 in the morning, on the 2nd day of 2014. For the last week I have been contemplating how I was to start and complete my first shared piece of writing for the New Year. I knew immediately the topic in which I would write on but I couldn’t quite find the words (that I would willingly share). For some reason it’s been a bit tugging for me to share my heart and mind on this blog that Cent & I started only a short 3 months ago. I have come to a couple of entwined conclusions as to why that is:

1) I sense that at some point this blog will see more eyes than my other two personal blogs. (That startles me.)
2) The level of transparency and intimacy of our posts opens me to the world on a level that I am not sure I am comfortable with.

After a bit of reflecting, both reasons sound completely silly. I am reminded of the visions and purpose God has given us for what CineticEnergy is to be. He has called for us to be open and unashamed. He wants us, through His strength, share the impact that He has had and still has on our lives. He wants us to choose to lay down our lives, forgetting those things that are behind us and pressing towards that which is before us. There is no room for doubt and fear. It isn’t about us. It’s not about me.

It’s all about Christ Jesus.

So, two titles & three introductions later, here I am.

My heart has been burdened by the knowledge that we are all yearning and searching for the same thing in this life: Love. Yes, all of us. We all feel the void within ourselves that requires filling. Now, that search looks so different when we look at every individual separately. Some turn to companionship of people, others material things, others education, some look to drugs/alcohol/food, while others think money and status will ease their inquiry—all leaving the individual with an even deeper void carved within themselves. Is that you? Have you been roaming about looking for the fulfillment that can only be found in One? Jesus. Everything that you would ever need can be found in Him. He is the very One to connect us back to what we all have searched for: Love. By His acts of reconciliation, through His life, death & resurrection, of humanity to Yahweh—God, the Father—we now have full access to perfect Love and all that Love entails. Scripture let’s us know that God is Love (1John 4:8). So, with this knowledge….why do we still search?  Well, I can only speak for myself. I some time find my heart aching when I think about what I don’t have. Discontentment. I find myself meditating on where I think I should be by now, what I haven’t accomplished, who & what I don’t have in my life.

There is a battle that I fight within myself to keep my mind on the prize. I fight to remember that my hope and fulfillment rests in my relationship with God. I fight the world, daily, that attempts to pull my heart from Him. I fight, mentally, to rest in the Love I so desperately need. It’s what we all must do. Resting as the beloved of Christ, as a child of God, is not an easy task. We are foreigners in a land that would rather have us live and operate as they do. A world that would prefer that we identified ourselves with it rather than our Redeemer. It is time, it has been time, that we take hold of our inheritance in such a way that the world sees that we have is nothing like anything that they have ever experienced. That they see the error in their void filling that they seek after the only true void filler there is. It’s long overdue that we emerge ourselves in the Love that we have found that when they see us all they can help to see is Love. Being no longer conformed to this world, no longer being passive towards the attacks that this world throw at us: it’s time to fight. Putting on the whole armor of Christ. Taking up the best weapons we have, the Truth of the Word & His Love.

I leave you a few lyrics that I found flowing in my heart that sort of guiding me into that post:

What the world needs now is Love, sweet Love
It’s the only thing that there’s just too little of
What the world needs now is Love, sweet Love,
No not just for some but for everyone.

No, not just for some, oh, but just for everyone.

Ready, Set, Fight!

—E

Leave a Reply

